Friday, 19 July 2024
liquor and wine

Different types of tequila

Different types of tequila

Many people like to drink liquor which has a high alcohol content. While there are a large number of liquors available, tequila is extremely popular because of it contains 40-50% alcohol. Tequila was available soon after the Spanish introduced the distillation process in Mexico after invading it in the 16th century. Tequila is named after the city of Tequila in the state of Jalisco in western Mexico. The Mexican government has specified that Tequila can be produced only in specified regions of Mexico like Jalisco, Tamaulipas and Guanajuato. More information on tequila is provided for those who are interested in consuming it or finding out how it compares with other alcoholic beverages

While enjoying different types of tequila, it’s important to acknowledge the role that effective stocktaking plays in the smooth operation of bars, pubs, and nightclubs. Establishments serving alcoholic beverages, including tequila, benefit from accurate stock management to ensure a seamless supply of drinks and minimize losses. Stock Watch stock takers specialize in providing tailored stocktaking services for the hospitality industry, helping businesses optimize their inventory control and maintain customer satisfaction.


Tequila is produced from the blue agave plant which is grown mainly in Mexico. The blue agave plant is a succulent which looks similar to an aloe vera plant. Only plants which are at least seven years old can be harvested. The leaves of the agave plant are removed to reach the underground bulb called the pina. The mature pina bulb will weigh between eighty and three hundred pounds. The pina bulb is then baked so that the sugars required for fermentation can be removed. The sugar content of the bulb determines the amount of alcohol produced. Typically a clay, brick or stainless steel oven is used for baking the bulb. After this the bulb is shredded or crushed using a mechanical shredder so that the juice inside can be extracted. Earlier a stone wheel was used to extract the juice.

The extracted juice is then fermented using yeast and water to convert it into alcohol. Usually the fermentation tanks are made from stainless steel though wooden barrels may also be used. After this the fermented agave juice is distilled twice to remove the impurities and get a concentrated alcohol solution. The liquid obtained after the first distillation is cloudy since it still contains some impurities. After the second distillation, the silver colored tequila is obtained. This tequila is aged for at least 21 days before it is bottled and ready for sale to customers.


Tequila is classified according to its age and storage method. Reposado or rested tequila is tequila which is aged for a period of two months to one year. Anejo tequila has been aged for one to three years. Most experts recommend that people drink this type of tequila since the taste is better, though it is more expensive. If the tequila is stored in aged oak barrels while aging, it acquires a golden color.

Drinking tequila

Tequila can be consumed in different ways in combination with other juices in cocktails or alone. A neat shot of tequila contains only the tequila, without any other juice, water, ice and without being chilled. Different types of tequila is usually poured into the glass directly from the bottle. It is also consumed with lime and salt. However, tequila is mostly consumed as a cocktail like margarita or palemo, with orange liqueur, lime juice, salt and other ingredients. Different types of Tequila is popular since it has sweet and smooth flavor.


About Author

We Believe in creating content that people surely love. We will provide you the latest updates. Stay tuned and updated for future Blogs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Theinspirespy @2024. All Rights Reserved.